Pastoral Parish Council

What is the Pastoral Council?

Archbishop Diarmuid Martin mandated the establishment of Parish Pastoral Councils in all 200 Parishes of the Diocese. They are due to be evaluated in Autumn 2007. The purpose of the Council is to facilitate Parishioners and Priests to work together in the care of the Parish. The Council reflects, makes recommendations and assists in the Spiritual and Pastoral Development of the Parish.

Who are the members?

The members were drawn from the Parish through an open and transparent process. The process was facilitated by Ms Ellie McKeown, who is a Diocesan Pastoral Worker.
The Council selects its own Chairperson and Secretary. The Parish Priest is the President of the Council. The names of the members are published on the Notice Board of the Church entrance.

How can the council be contacted?

Chairperson: Agnes Bellary

Esker Dodsboro Adamstown Parish Pastoral Council

The Pastoral Council is a recognised leadership structure that is mandated by the Archbishop of Dublin, Dermot Farrell and confirmed by Canon Law.
Parish Mission Statement: The aim of St. Patrick’s Parish is to create an environment in which the Spirit of the Lord lives, enabling all the members of the parish to grow in the love of God and one another and to respect the gifts and talents of each other-Clann Dé le chéile [God’s Family gathered together]

The Council seeks to facilitate and enable the work of each member of the community and of the work of Parish Groups for the sake of the parish. In that sense we are not another committee that sets out to tell everyone else what to do and how to do it. Rather we are there to listen to what you identify as the needs of the Parish, to reflect on them, to try and chart the best way forward to meet those needs and to facilitate in whatever way we can other people and other groups in fulfilling them.

We welcome any comments or questions you may have on any aspects of the Council’s work at any time.